Post Grad School Life

On one of my recent blog posts, I received a comment wondering what I’m doing now with my graduate degree. When I originally started my blog a few years ago, I was a 1st year graduate student studying Clinical Counseling Psychology. In 2020, I graduated with my masters degree. Yes, I graduated and started a full time job as a therapist during the earlier stages of the pandemic in 2020. Very eventful transition. Working in a community mental health setting, I provide therapy and case management services for children, teens, adults, and families virtually and in some schools. At the moment, I work with nearly every age group, except for the elderly. My caseload is predominantly Black and Hispanic individuals who have been impacted by trauma. 

Photo by Polina Tankilevitch on Pexels.com

Even though it is stressful and overwhelming at times, I really like being a therapist and working with my clients.

Some things I really enjoy about my work: 

-Witnessing clients transform throughout the span of therapy.

-Clients being able to identify their progress/growth and how therapy has helped them.

-Being able to be creative in sessions and sometimes using humor. 

-Working with different ages groups and developmental stages.

-Seeing their confidence, self esteem, awareness, insight, and self compassion increase over time.

-Being welcomed into their inner worlds and joining them on their journey

-Supporting their authentic expressions of themselves and being able to be in that moment with them. I love the fact that most of my clients don’t feel like they need to tone themselves down or present a certain way in session. They can just be themselves and talk however they want to talk. 

-When clients who say they can’t feel emotions, finally start to feel and accept emotional experiences. Sometimes, I literally cheer. 

Photo by Monstera on Pexels.com

-When I say something and it causes them to think and reflect deeper. 

-Having surreal moments of “I’m a therapist.” Sometimes, I still don’t believe it. 

Besides working as a therapist, I have a personal life outside of my work identity that I make sure to pour into and enjoy. So, for the most part I don’t think I’m going to have any blog posts that relate too much to my job. I’m not going to talk about disorders, treatments, theories, etc. I would rather keep this blog separate from my work life. On that note, I will share some of my hobbies. 

Some of my hobbies: 

-Writing. I try to write at least once a week

-Reading. I just finished Salvation: Black People and Love by bell hooks. Highly recommend it. 

Photo by Rov Camato on Pexels.com

-Hanging out with friends and connecting with the people 

-Going to museums, art shows, comedy shows, and other creative events.

-Watching tv shows and movies. Lately, I’ve been watching a lot of mysteries and martial arts movies. I’m so excited to watch John Wick the fourth chapter. 

-Listening to music. So many many of my favorite artists released albums this year and last year.

Photo by Oluremi Adebayo on Pexels.com

-Being outside with the sunshine and warm-ish weather. I live in Chicago so it’s still very much winter. 

-Working out. I like going to the gym, do body weight exercises, Pilates videos, and taking walks around my neighborhood. Once in a while, I remember to do a yoga video

5 thoughts on “Post Grad School Life”

Leave a comment