Leaning More into “I Don’t Know”

As I stated in my previous post, I Don’t Know, there are many things in my life that I don’t have an answer to or know. There are some things I don’t know and I’m fine with it. Do I know the name of each of Jupiter’s moons?  Nope, it would be cool to know but I don’t need to know. There are some questions or facts that I don’t know and I don’t have a problem saying that. 

It’s harder to accept “I don’t know” to things related to my personal life and future. There are a lot of things that are up in the air for me and a lot of uncertainty that I have been sitting in for a couple of months. I have uncertainty about my career and future career goals, my dating life, my finances and this economy, whether I want to continue to live where I am or move, society and the world as whole. Sometimes, I feel so scattered that I can’t focus on things. I always wonder if I’m doing life “right.” Am I making the right decisions? Did I make the right decisions in the past? Are things going to get better in the future or worst? 

Photo by Gantas Vaiu010diulu0117nas on Pexels.com

Do you know how many times I have been tempted to visit a psychic and hear predictions about my future? Just so I can have an answer or some sort. But then I don’t know if I actually want any predictions. I have also been in an indecisive mood for a bit too.

The different aspects of life are a lot to navigate, especially with so much happening in the world and oppressive systems. I have been working on accepting that I don’t know how things are going to turn out and I probably won’t know until I get to that point in my future. It’s better to focus on the present. I have been working on having faith that positive changes are in the future. 

People have said that there is fun in not knowing, so I have been trying to focus more on the fun aspect as opposed to scary and anxiety inducing aspect. Something that I have realized with my anxiety is that it’s usually a waste of my energy and time. 8/10 whatever I was worried about, excessive overthinking about, “preparing for,” and lost hours of sleep usually don’t turn out that bad. Like certain things were never that serious. And when the time comes, it actually works out in my favor. So, I have trying to lean into “I don’t know” and accept it. Bare minimum, I’m trying to have more a neutral view of it instead of a negative view. 

Photo by Stanislav Kondratiev on Pexels.com

Accepting the fact that I can’t control everything is definitely a challenge. Focusing on the good parts of the present and things that make me happy/calm is helpful. Sometimes, focusing on what I do know helps too. Even if it’s something small, like I know my favorite is blue, I know what makes me happy, then I just keep going on with other stuff I know that is related to me. It kind of helps to get me out of the mindset of what I don’t know.

Time to Focus on You:

How have you dealt/dealing with uncertainty in life?

Leave a comment